First Draft re-read

Little update.

 

I’ve re-read the first draft and noticed three things:

1. There are still a lot of superfluous scenes – superfluous in that they relate to an idea for the ending that didn’t eventuate.

2. The voice is utterly wrong for the piece. Too… optimistic almost. This is dystopic fiction, Daniel!

3. For the reader to care about my ending  I need to write a few scenes much earlier to contextualise it.

 

The beauty of the first re-read!

2 Responses to First Draft re-read

  1. Hi Daniel

    I love reading about various writers’ processes, so this is right up my alley. I find for me it varies from story to story, but my last two were similar to yours: too much, too rich and culled superfluous scenes. But maybe without that originally rich context those pieces would be weaker.

    Good luck with the voice. I can’t wait to read what sounds like an original and unique dystopian tale.

  2. Mark Welker says:

    I realised the other day that I really have no voice at all in some of my stories. In that they are almost completely driven by some form of plot.

    So now I’m writing a story with only a thin semblance of plot, and I have nothing for my characters to do!

Leave a Reply

